In with the new.

I’m enjoying embarking on new things. I guess that’s what newlyweds do. The permanence and profundity of the new things leaves me feeling like a misfit wherever old stuff remains. I’m a wife now–a woman with my own home and my own family–things that will define me for the rest of my life. With only five weeks of marriage under my belt and only four weeks of my last semester of college, I find every choice I make is dying to say “Out with the old.” My heart is not at school anymore and these next two months will be marked by the challenge of living there since that’s where God has me, being faithful to the calling to hone my musical skills for His service–a calling I’ve been pursuing full-tilt for more than half a decade now, and being patient when that faithfulness doesn’t feel like it fits with who I am or what I want to be doing.

Probably the greatest blessing in our busy new life is our church, Good Shepherd. It feels like we have a different identity on Sundays. It’s the identity we would pick every day if we could. It’s who we desire and expect to become all the time as we pursue a future in full-time ministry together. But Monday mornings it’s “thunk” back into the world of coursework and social circles at a too-prestigious liberal liberal arts college where we’re finishing our music degrees with a healthy overdose of night shifts at a local sandwich shop where Mike works and I study enough Renaissance music for the two of us.

The “thunk” this week was particularly hard and so I decided it’s finally time to do what I’ve planned to do since late last year: start a blog. Why? I hope it will connect me more to the Christian fellowship we enjoy when we don our Sunday identity with our sometimes-ironed dress clothes every week. I also love to write and reflect and I miss the discipline of frequently articulating what God is doing in my life. Centered in my brand new kitchen is the wood carving my piano students gave me five years ago that says simply “God is faithful.” I need to be remembering that, and testifying to it, more than just on Sundays.

God IS faithful. One of my favorite Old Testament stories is of the widow at Zarephath who probably stood with downcast eyes and upturned palms in front of Elijah when he asked her for a meal. She couldn’t possibly serve the Lord in this way! This last meal was to sustain her family tomorrow–to prolong their life beyond that day. But apparently that day is all she really needed to concern herself with. Elijah saw to it that she never forgot that. Every day she emptied her flour jar. Every morning it was full again.

And that is why my blog is called Wednesday Grace. Several years ago I was working with a teacher and mentor, hosting a busy music conference with nowhere near enough staff or resources. A loitering attendee asked him if he was ready for his concert the next day. “No…” he said. I was worried for a minute. “No, of course not. My concert is tomorrow. Today is Tuesday and I have Tuesday Grace. Tomorrow is Wednesday and tomorrow I will have Wednesday Grace.”

Or as Steven Curtis Chapman would say, “Lord, I do believe that the God that you’ve been every day of history is who you are this day.”

4 thoughts on “In with the new.

  1. thanks for the reminder in the story of the widow. Matthew 6:34 – “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”

    really like your new blog–especially its purpose, to further fellowship. face-to-face is always the best, of course–so miss you! sometime if you’re in need of fellowship give me a call. last time we had much in the way of a conversation was Christmas night and it was amazing!

  2. Yay! I’m glad you started a blog. I love you reasons for it, and that story is one of the ones that I love to remember. Thank you so so much. I miss you, and I’m praying for you and Mike a lot. 🙂

  3. Yay, Susan has a blog again! I was just thinking yesterday that I missed your blogging. I envision you blessing a lot of people through this. Love you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

