Congratulations, Kilby & Paul!

My sister got engaged this morning to the most amazing instance of soul-mate I think I’ve ever witnessed. According to her report there were “no details; [they] got engaged abstractly in a general way.” Coerced, she offered a bit more information, remarking that it was, “not really scandalous, he just took me to a nice spot in the backyard and asked if I wanted to marry him and i said mmhmm.”

In other news, I wrote a new hymn tune yesterday. I named it today.

4 thoughts on “Congratulations, Kilby & Paul!

  1. Oooh, very pretty. I wish I could hear you and her play and sing like I got to for Wittenburg’s debut (a shoddy video excerpt of which is still on my dying iBook, in fact). Hi, by the way…it’s been a while! I’m glad your blogging your newlywed adventures, etc. So call me an opportunist, but this reminded me that I’ve got a music question… I’m sharing duties with the pianist at our church, playing for the morning service. We’re to play tunes from the psalter or hymnal for about 5 minutes before it starts. There are so many minor tunes that I love in both (why is it that most of them have Welsh names??), but it just seems too weird to include them in the “line-up”: I feel like it would be awkward to listen to even one or two minor tunes preceding a worship service, since it’s not really a somber event. But… it’s not like the pastor always preaches on things like Psalm 100, so why should the pianist only play happy sounding songs beforehand? I just can’t get over my inhibitions. :p Would you play both types? Can you believe I’ve taken this long to ask what could probably be asked in 1-2 lines? Good to “meet up” with you again anyway. šŸ™‚

  2. Hi Laura! I didn’t know you read my blog! Nice to “see” you again! Here’s my simple answer: PLAY THEM! THEY’RE PRETTY!!!! šŸ™‚ And yes, the Welsh ones are pretty much the best. You’ll also notice that of the minor tunes, the Welsh tend to be on the less “somber” side. But that said, I must say that to think of minor and somber as synonymous is rather off. Minor is plaintive, reflective, sometimes even romantic. Just don’t “think” sad while you play them and you’ll be on the right track. šŸ™‚

    Besides, “somber” might be what some of your congregation needs before the worship service. Maybe they’re feeling discouraged and need someone to associate with them (a la not-singing-songs-to-a-heavy-heart). Maybe they need to spend time confessing sin. So yeah, all happy, all the time, is probably not the best way to go.

  3. I followed the link from your facebook page here last week or so. You make good points; thanks for the informed advice. šŸ™‚ You know, it occurred to me that one of my favorite tunes and one I’ve played before services is the one for Psalm 40 that’s on your CD, which I guess would qualify as minor. But it doesn’t strike me as plaintive the way Llef (Psalm 86 in the Trinity) does. Maybe it’s just my knowledge of the words coloring the way the tune sounds. I dunno.

Leave a Reply

