Text for My Next Children’s Choir Anthem

Not what my hands have done can save my guilty soul;
Not what my toiling flesh has borne can make my spirit whole.

Your voice alone, O Lord, can speak to me of grace;
Your power alone, O Son of God, can all my sin erase.

Not what my hands have done can save my guilty soul;
Not what my toiling flesh has borne can make my spirit whole.

Your work alone, O Christ, can ease this weight of sin;
Your blood alone, O Lamb of God, can give me peace within.

Not what my hands have done can save my guilty soul;
Not what my toiling flesh has borne can make my spirit whole.

I praise the God of grace; I trust His truth and might;
He calls me His, I call Him mine, My God, my joy and light.

Not what my hands have done can save my guilty soul;
Not what my toiling flesh has borne can make my spirit whole.

–from Horatius Bonar’s hymn, shortened for young children

Leave a Reply

