Spoil Each Other

At my wedding shower last year the ladies from my church went around the room and offered a piece of marriage advice. One of the older ladies said something simple that I’ll never forget: “Spoil each other.”

It has come to mind more times than I can count in the last year and been at the root of many choices I’ve made. It’s fun–the idea that we are allowed to spoil each other.

This morning I worked an extra two hours unexpectedly. Schools were starting late so snow plows could come through town, so I had the kids till 10:00. After dropping them off I walked in the door to the smell of bleach. Mike has undertaken the practice of doing some little household chore every morning when he wakes up while I’m at work to help me keep up so that I’ll have time for working out and such things. This morning he’d scoured the house–kitchen and bathroom, and vacuumed all the carpets. He polished the table and started the laundry and even noticed to launder the shower curtain.

So it’s only fair that I return the favor. Tomorrow is the last of his audition trips. He’s off to Connecticut this time with one of his best buddies from school. In an effort to keep costs low I’ve been sending food with him on these trips so he doesn’t have to eat out for every meal. This week’s fare: peanut butter chocolate chip cookies and the prettiest pepperoni-cheese rolls you’ve ever seen. This time instead of making individual rolls I made two huge loaves to slice up, wound with pepperoni and cheddar. The dough itself has cheese and herbs in it. (Thank you, Joy of Cooking.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 thoughts on “Spoil Each Other

  1. I plan to repeat/tweak this for our next church potluck (next week!) so I’ll post it after that. For now, here’s peanut butter cookies to hold you over:

    1 c. peanut butter
    1 c. sugar (I used a mix of brown and white)
    1 tsp. baking soda
    1 egg
    I threw in a few TBSP white flour to ensure it wouldn’t turn out too flat/soft, but the recipe holds up without it.

    Caution: if your dough seems super greasy it’s probably not going to bake well. I’ve had that problem before and I think it lies in the proportions: this is a great recipe but multiplying it screws things up a bit, I think–too much oil in the peanut butter?

    I added about 1/2 c. chocolate chips. Roll into balls and flatten only slightly with a fork. Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes–DON’T overbake or they will be very dry. As they cool they will set, so taking them out when they look soft is the way to go.

    So easy! And it turns out peanut butter chocolate chip cookies are Mike’s favorite–I didn’t even know!

Leave a Reply

