Salmon Recipe

I wish I were more inspired to write profound things lately, but profundity does not come to me often with a belly this size, I guess.

So in lieu of anything profound, here’s a delicious, quick lunch, now safely tucked away in my fridge for the next few days:

The other day as I was grocery shopping I stumbled across an old favorite: canned salmon.

My mom used to make pasta salad out of canned salmon when we were kids and it was always simple and yummy. I’ve been looking for high protein food recently, and especially loving fish, since it’s so good for a baby’s brain. (Did you know that, unlike other mammals, human babies are born with something around 25% of the size of their adult brains? That’s why those smart little colts and calves get borned and start trotting along behind Mom. Such muscle coordination! Our babies, on the other hand, just… lie there. It takes them weeks to discover that that THING that keeps smacking them is attached and controllable. We call it a hand, son.) Salmon and I are becoming best friends.

So I picked up a couple cans, and here’s my twist on Mom’s basic recipe (my twist is the tomatoes & capers).

12 oz. bowtie pasta, cooked to al dente
2 cans of pink salmon
5-8 roma tomatoes, chunked
4-6 oz. jar of capers, drained

dressing:
2/3 c. mayo
1/4 c. lemon juice
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 onion, chopped
fresh cracked salt & pepper to taste

Mix it all up and serve!

Leave a Reply

