I’m a Foodie.

Dinner tonight hit the spot, and the nice thing was that it took less than half an hour to whip up, from start to finish. What makes me a foodie is that the recipes came from other foodies whose blogs I read on a semi-frequent basis.

The menu:

Salmon with Basil Romesco Sauce

Spaghetti with Cheese & Black Pepper

Poppy Seed & Mandarin Orange Salad

The salad came from Janet W, a friend at church. It was missing only the glazed, toasted almonds. It was red leaf lettuce, mandarin oranges, and a dressing of 1/4 c. mayo, 1/8 c. milk, 1 tbsp. red wine vinegar, 3 tbsp sugar, and 1 tbsp. poppy seeds. Mike says that dressing would make any salad taste good.

The meal needed something more–probably a few spears of perfectly grilled asparagus with some lemon. Not that I’m crazy about asparagus but, well, it would just be the right food.

“I want this baby to be born.” Said I.

“No you don’t, cuz then you won’t be able to make meals like this.” Said he.

“Well I can’t think of a better ‘Last Hurrah’ than this.” Said I. “Will you miss this kind of food?”

A long, long pause. “No… Probably not.” Said he.

“I consider the fact that you even had to think about it to be a huge victory for me.” Said I.

“I mean, I don’t think if I were in the middle of NOT eating this way that I’d notice anything different.” Said he.

“That’s the difference between you and me. I’ll miss it.” Said I.

And I think that’s the other thing that makes me a foodie.

3 thoughts on “I’m a Foodie.

  1. I am not a foodie, though I’m glad to know a few! And I do like foodie blogs when I have time. I will have to try the spaghetti. I tried something very similar from a Rachael Ray recipe and didn’t really get the magical union of water and cheese, but it tasted great! Thankfully my lunch guest felt the same way about noodles and cheese as I do, so the looks of it didn’t matter!

Leave a Reply

