Getting Grace

This blog is called Wednesday Grace and there’s an explanation for that here. God promises to give me grace for each day. It’s a Biblical theme that I’ve found reassuring and comforting, as it reminds me to focus on the Now and not worry about the Later.

God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that having all sufficiency in all things at all times, you may abound in every good work. (2 Co 9:8)

God also tells me I don’t have because I don’t ask. There’s more to this daily grace thing than just sitting palms up. Rachel Jankovic, in her little book on motherhood, repeatedly uses the phrase “get the grace.” “Get the grace to deal with it,” she says. “You didn’t get the grace you needed.”

Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need. (Heb 4:16)

If Paul is right and God is able to make all grace to abound to me, and if James is right and I don’t have because I don’t ask, that leaves me with no excuses when I fail to measure up to a demand God brings my way. I didn’t “get the grace” – didn’t “draw near to the throne of grace” to ask for it.

It’s encouraging: Grace is always there for the asking and all I have to do is ask.

It’s convicting: Missing grace is grace I failed to ask for.

It’s a good thing Hebrews 4:15 comes before 4:16.

For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin. (Heb 4:15)

Christ knows my weakness and the temptations that constantly present themselves to me and established a way to deal with the problem: access to the throne so I can get the grace I need.

So why do I just blunder into situations big and small in my own strength and thoughtlessness all day? Instead I should practice seeing difficult situations on the horizon and consciously approaching the throne of grace for “help in time of need.”

No wonder Paul wrote to the Thessalonians as he did.

Pray without ceasing. (1Th 5:17)

One thought on “Getting Grace

  1. Thank you, I needed to hear this. I read it yesterday and it has since been bubbling up in my head until it sounds like a freight train: “GET THE GRACE!”

Leave a Reply

