Providing the Couch

A few days before Jacob was born I had the chance to hang out with two good friends one evening. It was pretty spontaneous that the three of us wound up sharing dinner together. I stood at the stove sauteeing zucchini and boiling pasta as the two of them sat on my couch around the corner and laughed together. I was invisible and not even participating in the conversation and yet a smile rose to my face as I heard them talking and laughing, and I realized I was having the time of my life “with” these girls.

I’ve been thinking about that moment ever since. It is a joy to be the invisible one sometimes, my life for yours, just providing the couch on which two friends can enjoy each other.

Leave a Reply

