Doing My Best with What I Have to Work With

It’s Wednesday. Laundry day. Still no less complicated than it was two months ago.

I’d like to have time every day to take a walk, to go to the gym, to lift weights, to cook gourmet, and to enjoy some relaxing. But when I have to lug a car seat everywhere and time a fussy baby’s life, I have to adjust. I am happy to say that I am having fun, even though with just a bit of a perspective change I might say life is awful: lonely, complicated, hard, and boring. Life is FUN.

(Hang on while I put a fussy baby down for his nap.)

  • 9:50 a.m. Tie on my running shoes and load the baby into the car
  • 9:55 a.m. roll down the sun roof – my version of enjoying the outdoors today
  • 10:00 a.m. chiropractor
  • 10:30 a.m. laundry in at the laundromat
  • 10:40 a.m. Target – my walk for the day while I run an errand
  • 11:00 a.m. laundry in the dryer for free thanks to another sympathetic mom who put in too many quarters
  • 11:05 a.m. Tie on my Moby wrap and put Jacob in
  • 11:07 a.m. Abandon the rest of my morning walk outdoors to feed a growing, hungry baby
  • 11:35 a.m. Pile everything back into the car
  • 11:40 a.m. Buy milk at Quik Trip (take baby BACK out of the car and put him BACK in)
  • 11:50 a.m. Home. Change the baby, put him in his bouncy seat, squat down over and over, laughing at him and teasing him. (A bit more exercise.) Lock him back in the house, and go back to the car for the laundry. This involves climbing three flights of stairs with an armful, twice. Today’s version of lifting weights.
  • 11:55 a.m. Open all the windows. It makes it feel like I live in a tree house.
  • 12:00 p.m. Open all the prepared salad fixings in the fridge and assemble what I’m calling my Crazy Salad. It’s my attempt at enjoying good food easily while trying to shed 40 more pregnancy pounds. Mixed greens with spinach, shrimp, blueberries, craisins, mandarin oranges, grapes, carrots, bell peppers, tomatoes, feta, salt & pepper and oil & vinegar. It’s a little disorganized, but it’s my thing right now.
  • 12:10 p.m. Sit down on the couch to blog and eat and fold laundry during an episode of Burn Notice.
I’ve got two more hours to “do things,” including washing three days of dishes, taking a shower, and feeding Jacob AGAIN, and then I’m off to the last meeting of the children’s choir I’ve been assisting with this year, then home to eat kabob left-overs, write thank you notes and save CDs to iTunes, and babysit an 8yo girl.
I may not have time to go for a leisurely hike in the arboretum, but enjoying life is more about keeping a good enough attitude and enough presence of mind to notice the blooming cherry trees as you drive down your own street. This is what I want to teach my kids.
What a life.
One thought on “Doing My Best with What I Have to Work With

Leave a Reply

