My Vegan Experiment

In an effort to lose weight while being ravenously hungry due to breastfeeding, I’ve turned to salads, glorious salads, as one-dish meals. I’m talking all raw, all fruit/veggie/nut, no cheating. (Well, I’ve used a sugared dressing a few times which is cheating. And once in awhile feta is a nice splurge.)

I am enjoying this menu so very much, and the creativity it inspires, that I think it’s going to be a large part of the Powell diet. I love me some steak and cheese and cream and pasta too much to be a vegetarian or to impose that on my family. It also doesn’t go with Mike’s and my philosophy that ALL things God created are given to us for our enjoyment. The key is living well, wisely, and in moderation. But this food is just good for you, so why not enjoy it, too?

I was so impressed the other day to be at a friend’s house. She set out a big veggie platter to snack on while lunch was cooking and before we sat down to lunch her kids had devoured every last piece. To them, it was snack food. What a gift to give your children, to grow up enjoying that food. Want crunch? Eat a carrot, not potato chips.

Once again, I must admit that I love potato chips too much to deprive my kids of them completely. And I love white flour and good bread too much to be a whole-wheat fanatic and make such healthy cookies that your kids don’t even want to eat them. But what I want is to balance the pasta and the cheese and the cookies with the other good stuff.

So I think as often as possible we’ll try eating one vegan meal every day, and I intend for it to be salad, mostly, because WHY NOT!? Salad is wonderful. I’ve taken to buying a big box of pre-washed spring mix + spinach each week. I load up a bowl and then pile on fruits & veggies and come up with a dressing. So I’ve decided I’m going to post a recipe for a salad I’ve loved every week for awhile.

Today:
Spring mix
3 strawberries, sliced
a handful of red grapes
a nectarine, sliced
a tomato, sliced
a carrot, shaved into long strands with a peeler (it’s like eating spaghetti!)
a few mandarin oranges
some grated lemon peel

The dressing:
a spoonful of tahini (ground sesame seeds)
a few shakes of sesame seeds
a bit of olive oil
juice of half a lemon
coarse salt
a generous shake of cayenne pepper

It is GOOD. Mmm. And the time and effort it takes to chew and consume a meal like this can’t hurt, either.

I don’t know how much variety is going to happen, because I am not the most adventuresome person when it comes to fruits and veggies (YET). But we’ll see. I’m realizing there’s all kinds of opportunity for creativity with this as your control: whole, raw, plant. Speaking of whole, don’t peel your carrots, just wash ’em real good and don’t waste the extra fiber on the outside!

4 thoughts on “My Vegan Experiment

  1. Smiling…but did you notice they were not choosing veggies OVER chips? They are growing, hungry children who have learned to eat while the eating is good! πŸ˜‰ And your salad looks yummy! Thanks!

    1. Heh, yes, Tracey, I did notice there weren’t chips available in the first place. That wasn’t lost on me… πŸ˜‰ I think “eat while the eating is good” is the key and you’ve clearly taught them to be content with whatever. I was impressed with them AND you, you sneaky Mom you.

  2. Yep. Believe it or not, that’s how we started out. Add busyness, extended family in the house, especially one with a food issue, shared hospitality, teens, more busyness, and well, let’s just say I appreciate the Second Law of Thermodynamics more than you can imagine. Appreciate: –verb 3. to be fully conscious of; be aware of; detect: to appreciate the dangers of a situation.

  3. As an on-again, off-again vegetarian for both health and political reasons, as well as a produce stocker at a natural foods grocery co-op, I heartily approve. πŸ™‚ No matter your reasons, I think everyone could stand to eat more fruits, vegetables, and whole grains.

Leave a Reply

