Children’s Song: Give Me Jesus

This week’s children’s song is the traditional spiritual “Give Me Jesus.” If you are looking for a recording of it, you can’t beat Fernando Ortega’s setting on Hymns of Worship. I love the simplicity of this prayer and I think the plaintive song captures the sentiment well. It’s a perfect springboard for teaching our kids that Christ is all we need in this world and the next. And of course with its first line, it’s a good song for the start of the day.

In the morning when I rise
Give me Jesus.

You can have all this world,
But give me Jesus.

And when I am alone
Give me Jesus.

And when I come to die
Give me Jesus.

Leave a Reply

