Children’s Song: I Want Jesus to Walk with Me

We’ve been singing this one in our house a lot lately. One of the deficiencies of children’s music repertoire is the fact that most of it boasts a major tonality. How do you get your kids accustomed to the sound of minor? So many spirituals fill that void nicely.

I want Jesus to walk with me
I want Jesus to walk with me
All along my pilgrim journey
I want Jesus to walk with me

In my trials, Lord, walk with me
In my trials, Lord, walk with me
When the shades of life are falling
Lord, I want Jesus to walk with me

In my sorrow, Lord walk with me
In my sorrows, Lord walk with me
When my heart is almost breaking,
Lord, I want Jesus to walk with me

In my troubles, Lord walk with me
In my troubles, Lord walk with me
When my life becomes a burden,
Lord, I want Jesus to walk with me

One thought on “Children’s Song: I Want Jesus to Walk with Me

  1. Thanks for posting these Susan. 🙂 The simplicity and sincerity of these songs “for children” also works well for adults who don’t have much time/energy to memorize long hymns, but like to sing (and maybe get others to sing along). I was singing “keep your lamps” while washing dishes tonight and thought the line “don’t get weary ’til your work is done” was especially appropriate. Good times.

Leave a Reply

