Prayer Song: Eternal Spirit of the Living Christ

….Aaaaand….we’re back.

This week’s prayer song is one of the treasures I took away from St. Olaf with me. We sang it as part of the Friday Morning Prayer liturgy during Lent most years, and it was paired with Romans 8, about the earth groaning in labor pains and the Spirit interceding for us. I sing this on many mornings, especially when I’m feeling particularly unspiritual *wink* (read: selfish and visionless) and it was posted on my kitchen cabinet in Northfield. The tune I know is the Latin chant melody Adoro Te Devote. The words are relatively new, by Frank von Christierson and only published in 1974 by the Hymn Society.

Eternal Spirit of the living Christ,
I know not how to ask or what to say;
I only know my need, as deep as life,
and only you can teach me how to pray.

Come, pray in me the prayer I need this day;
help me to see your purpose and your will
where I have failed, what I have done amiss;
held in forgiving love, let me be still.

Come with the vision and the strength I need
to serve my God and all humanity;
fulfilment of my life in love outpoured;
my life in you, O Christ; your love in me.

One thought on “Prayer Song: Eternal Spirit of the Living Christ

Leave a Reply

