Here I Go Again

Nothing gets me praying quite like a brief foray into the world of professional musicians. Last night I had the opportunity to attend a concert with Mike and a reception following. We were out past 11:00 doing the music thing, and rarely have I enjoyed myself more of late.

I came to this today:

Let your steadfast love come to me, O LORD,
your salvation according to your promise;
then shall I have an answer for him who taunts me,
for I trust in your word.
And take not the word of truth utterly out of my mouth,
for my hope is in your rules.
I will keep your law continually,
forever and ever,
and I shall walk in a wide place,
for I have sought your precepts.
I will also speak of your testimonies before kings
and shall not be put to shame,
for I find my delight in your commandments,
which I love.
I will lift up my hands toward your commandments, which I love,
and I will meditate on your statutes.

(Psalm 119:41-48 ESV)

The timing is perfect and if the kids nap at the same time today maybe I can sit down and finish a drafted essay, by way of explanation.

Suffice it to say, for now, that I am grateful for the spiritual discipline God has given to me of not being a professional musician, because it keeps me leaning on him like nothing else. When I was a child – well, a teenager, which is the same thing – I came to this understanding of my identity: Christian first, woman second, musician third.

Little did I know it would become my mantra, my sanity, and my greatest offering to God.

And so begins another week in the life of a wife and mother.

Blest inhabitants of Zion,
washed in the Redeemer’s blood!
Jesus, whom their souls rely on,
makes them kings and priests to God.
‘Tis his love his people raises
over self to reign as kings:
and as priests, his solemn praises
each for a thank-offering brings.

Savior, since of Zion’s city,
I through grace a member am,
let the world deride or pity,
I will glory in thy Name.
Fading is the worldling’s pleasure,
all his boasted pomp and show;
solid joys and lasting treasure
none but Zion’s children know.

One thought on “Here I Go Again

  1. i’m glad you guys had a good time last night! it really was no trouble at all to do my homework at your place instead of mine so that i could watch jacob…happy to do it anytime! and i love your perspective on your role too… so awesome. have a great day susan!!

Leave a Reply

