A New Twist on Stuffed Peppers

I love stuffed peppers. I love the flavor and crunch of the pepper and the presentation of the meal and the endless variety of what you can put in them. I decided to make them the other day for dinner and grabbed a green pepper while I was grocery shopping. It was a big pepper and I halved it and stuffed each half to heaping and then baked it at 400F for about 45 minutes. It was a perfect supper for two, and today I ate some of the leftover stuffing alone for lunch. Some people say to pre-steam the peppers before you stuff them but I think part of what makes them yummy is the remaining crunch if you don’t cook the heck out of them.

My stuffing was awesome and definitely a do-over, which is why I’m filing it here.

I browned some Italian sausage and drained it. In another pan I sauteed some garlic, parsley, oregano, and savory in olive oil, then threw in 1 c. of Israeli couscous, browned it, and then poured on 1 c. of boiling water and let it steam for 8 minutes till it was cooked. When the couscous was done I added some sausage (not a lot), a few little grape tomatoes cut in half, a bit of tomato sauce, the small remainder of a can of pineapple tidbits I’d opened for pizza and then fed to Jacob for a few days, a bit of the pineapple juice, a handful of parmesan cheese, and some salt. I think that’s it.

Then I stuffed the peppers full and heaping and put them in a Corningware dish. Before I baked it I decided I was worried they’d be too dry or boring so I spooned on a couple more tablespoons of pineapple juice and let it drain into the stuffing and drip down the edges.

When it had baked there were bits of stuffing on the top and in the pan that were crusty and crunchy and almost blackened. It was, as my friend Kathryn would expect me to say, an EPIC WIN.

Leave a Reply

