Time Well Spent

You could probably say I am addicted to efficiency. It would certainly be truthful for me to confess that it can be something of an idol at times. You should see me clean up the house after the kids are down for their naps. It’s practically an extreme sport.

But twice this week I’ve found myself slowing down to glacial speed on a couple basic chores. Jacob loves to crawl over to the dishwasher when he finds it open and it’s all I can do to keep him from flinging all the clean silverware onto the floor piece by piece. One morning instead of grabbing it all before he could get it, I just took each piece from his hand before it made it to the floor and said “Give it to Mommy!” and “Thank you!” with each piece. Tedious is one word that comes to mind. But it was my eager son helping with the chores for the very first time, and it was a sweet moment.

Today I went to get the mail. It’s about 15 or 20 yards from our porch steps to the mailboxes and I brought Jacob with me. Instead of carrying him I decided to hold his hands while he walked and he marched all the way over and all the way back. It was so fun for him! (And me…) He is slowly getting more accustomed to walking. The world was standing still for me in that moment and I realized yet again Jacob was “helping” with the chores and the work was becoming more about spending time with my little guy than getting things done. This is as it should be.

One thought on “Time Well Spent

Leave a Reply

