Meredith: 2 Months

Sweet Meredith,

How I have grown to love you in the past month! You’ve added so much beauty to our lives and I can’t imagine being without you. All that time before you were born was nothing but beautiful, too, but now I look back and I know I’m twice who I was. I love having a girl in the house. I love your sweet dresses not just because they’re cute but because I realize there’s so much more loveliness in our house and it used to just be me swimming upstream in a river of trucks and jeans. The other night I snuck off for a girls’ night of knitting and crocheting with a friend and took you with me. There was something fun about leaving the boys behind and heading off just the two of us to go do something so ridiculously girly. This party’s just getting started.

You have charmed us this month. We spend so much time laughing over your funny little ways. Your cry has still not developed beyond much more than a few displeased squeaks and we routinely offer our own “captions” to the faces and noises you make. Babies are hilarious. Our favorite sound of all is when you sneeze and then wind up to sneeze again but it doesn’t happen and instead you let out this little dramatic sigh that literally makes us laugh out loud.

You’ve begun to smile and talk. You’re turning out to be a little social butterfly. Most often when you are fussing it is simply because you miss your fans. You want to be held, play, talk, flirt all the time when you’re awake. I love all your sweet noises and mouth-wide-open grins.

You still sleep a ton and it doesn’t take much to get you there. You’ve learned to sleep on your own rather effortlessly and I’m so thankful for that, because for the first few weeks it seemed like I was never asleep without you in my arms. About a week ago we started putting you to bed for the night in your bassinet in Daddy’s office. Until that point you would sleep beside our bed and at your first fuss for the night I’d bring you into bed with me and we’d snuggle together the rest of the night. It wasn’t the greatest sleep for me, but I got used to it and it was amazing not to have to get out of bed all night. Now I miss that! I also miss getting to be with you all night, though we usually finish the last hour or two of sleep together. Your mom is a softy. Is there any point in asking you to use that information judiciously?

Do you even know what judiciously means? I didn’t think so.

Waking or sleeping, you are a cuddler. You are never more content than when you’re snuggled in close to another warm body. This has been a challenge since your Auntie Grace went back to Florida. She lived with us for three weeks and you took many a nap in her arms. While she was here the house was always tidy and the laundry was always folded and put away. There was just more time to do things. Now I find whole hours passing in which I’ve done nothing but snuggle you, interrupted only when your brother wants in on the action now and then. I am really loving this snuggly side of you. It’s making me adjust my expectations, which all my oldest friends know your mommy needs, for sure. I tend to do too much, work too hard, go like crazy. I love that you’re teaching me to slow it down and just be. So when you’re eight years old and you still want to cuddle, don’t think twice about it. I’d rather stop anything I’m doing and just be with you.

Love,
Mommy

2 thoughts on “Meredith: 2 Months

  1. Hahaha I miss Meredith’s sneeze. One of the funniest things of history. You’ve gotta find a way to get that on video sometime before she grows out of it.

Leave a Reply

