Jacob Journal: Guest Post

My dear friend Laura, the one who was with me when I went into labor with Jacob and held him for most of the day on most Saturdays when he was weency while I packed to move across the country, the one whose wedding I get to help celebrate in September… She sent this on Jacob’s birthday and gave me permission to post it here. Auntie Laura, I am so thankful my kids have you in their lives and I’m so glad you get to meet Meredith next weekend!

Dear Jacob,
You’re TWO today! Wow! TWO is a great age to be.

This year, you’ll start using words more, and you’ll use them to find out about the world God has made. “Why?” might become your favorite word! But you’re super lucky, because you have TWO of the smartest people I know for your parents, and they’ll help you find the answers you need.

You’re going to love using your whole body to praise God when you’re TWO. Rolling, crawling, creeping, walking, running, jumping and climbing are just some of the ways you’ll praise the Lord! I hope you’ll also keep dancing, singing, and exploring musical instruments– either ones you find already built (like the organ and piano), or ones you invent yourself (like a wooden spoon and Daddy’s head). Music is a great way to give God praise when you’re TWO!

I have to tell you though, being TWO is sometimes hard. You’ve already started to see how hard it is to control your emotions, especially when you’re tired, hungry, or grumpy. It can be really frustrating when you don’t get what you want, when you want it. But let me tell you a secret: your parents love you SO MUCH, and they always want what is best for you. Sometimes what’s best for you isn’t the same as what you want, and that might make you mad. But I promise, it will help turn you into the person God created you to be. And becoming that person is the single most important thing you can do with your life. It’s the only way to live happily ever after.

I’m so proud of the person you are, and the person you’re becoming, Jacob. I wish I could be there to help you celebrate your special day today, but you and I live too far apart. I want you to know that there is someone in the state of Minnesota who loves you very much and prays for you.

Happy birthday, my friend!

Love,
Auntie Laura

Leave a Reply

