Daily Bread

This morning as I was praying I found myself with time and energy only for a quick litany of thanks and requests reflecting my very present moments and very immediate surroundings: “Bless my family and please carry us through this day, Amen.”

There are half a dozen ongoing issues in my world that I want to be praying for daily, from my own heart, to friends in need, to causes I believe in, and on days like today I feel sorry to be ignoring them.

But as I finished praying and moved on with doing triage on this already-aging day, Jesus’ words popped into my head: “Give us this day our daily bread.” Maybe he gave us that for these moments. Maybe he knew sometimes that is all we would pray.

Wednesday grace or something.

Leave a Reply

